top of page

Child Labor Laws

Updated: Jun 7, 2023

Minors, not enrolled in the K-12 public school system, are required to submit an “Application for Waiver of the Florida Child Labor Law”.

450.081 Hours of work in certain occupations.

(1)(a) Minors 15 years of age or younger shall not be employed, permitted, or suffered to work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. when school is scheduled the following day or for more than 15 hours in any one week. On any school day, minors 15 years of age or younger who are not enrolled in a 1 career education program shall not be gainfully employed for more than 3 hours, unless there is no session of school the following day.

(b) During holidays and summer vacations, minors 15 years of age or younger shall not be employed, permitted, or suffered to work before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m., for more than 8 hours in any one day, or for more than 40 hours in any one week.

(2) Minors 16 and 17 years of age shall not be employed, permitted, or suffered to work before 6:30 a.m. or after 11:00 p.m. or for more than 8 hours in any one day when school is scheduled the following day. When school is in session, minors 16 and 17 years of age shall not work more than 30 hours in any one week. On any school day, minors 16 and 17 years of age who are not enrolled in a1 career education program shall not be gainfully employed during school hours.

(3) Minors 17 years of age or younger shall not be employed, permitted, or suffered to work in any gainful occupation for more than 6 consecutive days in any one week.

(4) Minors 17 years of age or younger shall not be employed, permitted, or suffered to work for more than 4 hours continuously without an interval of at least 30 minutes for a meal period; and for the purposes of this law, no period of less than 30 minutes shall be deemed to interrupt a continuous period of work.

(5) The provisions of subsections (1)-(4) shall not apply to: (a) Minors 16 and 17 years of age who have graduated from high school or received a high school equivalency diploma.

(b) Minors who are within the compulsory school attendance age limit who hold a valid certificate of exemption issued by the school superintendent or his or her designee pursuant to the provisions of s. 1003.21(3).

(c) Minors enrolled in a public educational institution who qualify on a hardship basis such as economic necessity or family emergency. Such determination shall be made by the school superintendent or his or her designee, and a waiver of hours shall be issued to the minor and the employer. The form and contents thereof shall be prescribed by the department.

(d) Children in domestic service in private homes, children employed by their parents, or pages in the Florida Legislature.

(6) The presence of any minor in any place of employment during working hours shall be prima facie evidence of his or her employment therein.

450.095 Waivers. In extenuating circumstances when it clearly appears to be in the best interest of the child, the department may grant a waiver of the restrictions imposed by the Child Labor Law on the employment of a child. Such waivers shall be granted upon a case-by-case basis and shall be based upon such factors as the department, by rule, establishes as determinative of whether such waiver is in the best interest of a child.

1003.21 School attendance.

(3) The district school superintendent may authorize certificates of exemptions from school attendance requirements in certain situations. Students within the compulsory attendance age limits who hold valid certificates of exemption that have been issued by the superintendent shall be exempt from attending school. A certificate of exemption shall cease to be valid at the end of the school year in which it is issued.

Recent Posts

See All

Florida Virtual Campus

A VALUABLE TOOL FOR HOME EDUCATORS IN FLORIDA Florida’s colleges and universities offer hundreds of online courses to meet your needs. Looking for a course to round out your schedule? Need help starti

Exceptional Student Services

Seven Frequently Asked Questions About Home Education and Exceptional Student Education Services What should a parent do to receive an evaluation if they suspect their child has a disability? What is

Comments


bottom of page